- 1 What are the rules for playing 9 ball?
- 2 What balls are used in 9 ball?
- 3 What happens if you scratch in 9ball?
- 4 How do you lose in 9-ball?
- 5 Do you lose if you scratch on the break in 9-ball?
- 6 What is the point of 9-ball?
- 7 What is push out in 9-ball?
- 8 Does slop count in 9-ball?
- 9 What are fouls in 9 ball?
- 10 Can you combo the 9 ball to win?
- 11 Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?
- 12 Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
- 13 Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
What are the rules for playing 9 ball?
The rules are fairly simple. You aim to pot the balls in order until the 9 ball drops. Whoever pots it has won, regardless of how many of the previous balls the player was responsible for holing. Miss a shot and no balls go down, your turn is over and your opponent comes to the table.
What balls are used in 9 ball?
Nine Ball is played with nine object balls numbered one through nine and a cue ball. On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order.
What happens if you scratch in 9ball?
Scratching on the 9 ball Do you instantly lose? In this situation, it’s considered a foul and as such, the 9 ball will be respotted and the opponent will have a ball in hand. If the spot is unavailable then the 9 ball is respotted just below the 9 ball spot.
How do you lose in 9-ball?
If a player fouls three consecutive times on three successive shots without making an intervening legal shot, he loses the game. The three fouls must occur in one game. The warning must be given between the second and third fouls.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in 9-ball?
The exception concerning scratching on the break does not apply to 9-Ball. Scratching on the break is ball- in-hand anywhere just as other fouls. 2. The foul concerning striking the correct ball first applies, but ignore the reference to stripes or solids.
What is the point of 9-ball?
The remaining balls are numbered 1 through 9, each a distinct color, with the 9-ball being striped yellow and white. The aim of the game is to hit the lowest numbered ball on the table (often referred to as the object ball ) and pocket balls in succession to eventually pocket the nine-ball.
What is push out in 9-ball?
A push-out refers to a rule in most games, especially after the break shot in nine ball, that allows the player to push out the cue ball to a new position without the requirement of contacting, pocketing, or driving to a rail, any ball.
Does slop count in 9-ball?
You win the game when you pocket the 9-ball, at any time, even on the break, provided the lowest numbered ball on the table is contacted first. No balls need to be called. In slang terms, “slop” or “trash” (making a ball by accident) counts.
What are fouls in 9 ball?
If no object ball is pocketed, failure to drive the cue ball or any numbered ball to a rail after the cue ball contacts the object ball on is a foul. 9.
Can you combo the 9 ball to win?
Going in order, the nine ball is going to be the last ball on the table. You can also win by sinking the nine on a combo as long as the first ball you hit is the lowest number ball on the table. That’s the basics.
Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.